How to Remove Files from Lost Device as Administrator

Michael Neal
29-10-2015 14:14

Wiping devices by administrator

Wiping devices of other Team Members is only available to Administrators on an enterprise plan
Team Administrators are able to remotely wipe any devices associated with their Soonr Team:
  1. Log in to Soonr Workplace Online
  2. Navigate to the ‘Devices’ tab
  3. Select the ‘Manage Devices’ tab
  4. Use the Status View menu to select ‘Active Devices’ if necessary. Locate the device using the search field and filter options, or just scroll through the list
  5. Select ‘Disable – Lost Device’ from the associated action menu.
    A device can also be disabled by selecting a device to display a detailed view, then selecting ‘Manage Device’ and clicking ‘Disable’.
  6. A confirmation screen will be displayed and will provide the option to “Wipe on connect”. Selecting this option will result in the synced data on the device being immediately wiped upon its next connection with the Soonr service.
The device will be moved into the “Disabled Devices” section and display “Wipe Pending”. Up until the point the device is connected, ‘Undo Wipe’ can be selected from the action menu to cancel the wipe. Once the device connects, the wipe is irreversible.

Deleting a Team Member

Wiping devices of other Team Members is only available to administrators on an Enterprise plan. Due to this restriction, this section is only valid for Enterprise Administrators. As a workaround for ProTeamsreset the Team Members password, then login to Soonr Online as that Team Member and remotely wipe the devices as described above.
When an administrator deletes a Team Member (via ‘Team’ ? ‘Members’), in addition to selecting what happens to Projects owned by the Team Member, the option to wipe the device will be available for each individual device.

Wipe Data Policies

If your Soonr Team leverages Active Directory or API’s to administer your Team, policies are available to wipe the devices without needing to access Soonr Workplace Online.

To enable these policies:

  1. Log in to Soonr Workplace Online
  2. Click on ‘Configuration’ and then ‘Policies’
  3. Click on ‘Device Policies’ to expand the section
  4. Toggle the following policies to enable or disable the feature:
    • Wipe data when Account Disabled
      Remotely erases all synced data from the user's devices when their account is disabled via Active Directory or the API.
    • Wipe data when Account Deleted
      Remotely erases all synced data from the user's devices when their account is deleted via Active Directory or the API.
Tags: How to Remove Files from Lost Device as Administrator
Average rating: 0 (0 Votes)

You cannot comment on this entry